Staff & Board


Josefa Vaughan, Founder and Executive Director – Josefa has recently returned to the Board to serve as secretary until a new officer is found for that position.  Her classical and cutting-edge art projects began connecting gifted and vulnerable communities in the year 2000.  Despite her teenage homelessness, she has lectured widely, is a Djerassi Resident Artist Program alum, has won Awards from the San Francisco Arts Commission, and has been a juror for the California Arts Council.

Jennifer Spencer, Office Manager First a typesetter, then a legal secretary, Jennifer, a Taoist Tai Chi practitioner is a native San Franciscan who developed her career in Great Britain. She has happily been vital to ArtSeed’s contact relationship management system upgrades. Her exacting attention to detail is helping us to update our data and move to a more sophisticated and personable way of reaching out to our growing list of beloved constituents.


Edna Arterberry, Community Liaison – Edna is a retired social worker for foster families (which she did for 20 years) at the Department of Human Services, City of San Francisco. Prior to this she has worked in Bayview Hunters Point for over 21 years as manager of The California Association for Health, Education, Employment and Dignity. She was on the advisory board of San Francisco General Hospital and the Southeast Health Center. She is actively involved in Cornerstone Baptist as a teacher for high school students and is a leader on the scholarship committee. As the mother of the internationally distinguished artist, William Scott, (who is also an ArtSeed alum) she hopes that ArtSeed can touch as many lives as possible through art and community service through commitment, love and success at creating a healthier environment.

Kevin Quan, Treasurer – Kevin is a San Francisco native and currently resides in the East Bay with this family. He is the accounting and finance manager for the San Francisco Arts Commission. Kevin holds a Masters of Accountancy from Golden Gate University. He appreciates art in all forms.

William Bicknell, IT Manager / Systems Administrator – Bill is an IT professional with over 20 years of experience applying technical solutions to enable more efficient business functions and support office infrastructure for small businesses as well as at the enterprise level. He grew up in upstate New York, but has called San Francisco home for 27 years, more than half his life. He developed a passion for the creative arts as a child and while that was not his major in college he was able to take photography courses at the College of Fine Arts at Cornell. All the visual arts, especially photography, have held a special place in his heart. Bill also currently participates at board level at two non-profit addiction recovery organizations. He would like to use his IT skills to help ArtSeed be even more effective in its mission to empower people through art.

ArtSeed’s Founder and Executive Director Josefa Vaughan recently returned to the Board to serve as Secretary until a new officer is found for that position.

ADVISORY BOARD – Charles Boone, Matthew Boriskin & Greg Paxton, Annette Brinton, Tony Grant, Sabine Gysens, Jeff Hastings, Marissa Kunz & Peter Mann, Bryant Lui, Arwen Vaughan, Ann Wettrich

YOUTH COUNCIL – Moselle Mac, Sasha M., Lillian W., Willow L., Josh S.

PAST BOARD MEMBERS – Anita Stokes, Recruitment Specialist. (2019 – 2020), Anita Smith-Christopher, Education Specialist. (2019), Sabine Gysens, Ph.D., President, Outreach and Fundraising Committee. (2015 – 2019), Chair. (2017– 2019), Malcolm McAfee, ArtSeed Sociologist in Residence. (2012 – 2014), Barbra A. Richardson, Bayview Hunters Point Community Liaison. (2011 – 2017), Ben Berkeley, Attorney at Law, Legal Council Committee Chair. (2013) Acting President (2014– 2017), Matthew Boriskin, President, Secretary, IT Officer, Web Manager. (President 2008 – 2013, Secretary 2014 – 2017), Todd Standish, Teaching Artist, Marketing Committee Chair. (2013 – 2016), Robert Rathmell, Attorney at Law. (2012 – 2013), Russell Brent, Grant writing and Bookkeeping Specialist (2012 – 2013), Georg Gottschalk, President. (2007 – 2009), Justin Hoover, Artist Advisor, Development and Fundraising Officer. (2004 – 2007), James Bo Joves, Financial Planning and Marketing Officer. (2006 – 2009), Mehrzad Khajenoori, Bookkeeper. (2004 – 2006) Treasurer. (2006 – 2007), Anna-Lisa Froman, Treasurer. (2005 – 2007), Bonnie Milstein, Development. (2008 – 2010), Diane Scarritt, Community Liaison. (2005 – 2008), Marissa Kunz, Founding Artist, Secretary and Program Officer. (2001 – 2011), Cris Larson, Treasurer. (2003 – 2004), Lydia Titcomb, President. (2003 – 2006), Laura Kamian, Founding Treasurer. (2001 – 2003)

EMERITUS STAFF/VOLUNTEERS/ADVISORS – Gino, Rosalyn, Louisse & Olivia Bella, Milo M. Benningfield, Anissa “Moon” Battle, Stacey Carter, Jennifer Danskine, Renata Cauchon-Robles, Adam Frey, Sophie Greenberg, Paul Griffin, Lynn Winter Gross, John Hammond, Sarafina Hoffman, Gabriela Hofmeyer, Selina Lee, Peter Li, Revathy Sree Kanagarajan, Madalina Kelner, Raoul Martinez, Gail Matthews, “Linh” Ha Khanh Nguyen, Dave Parker, Shoshana, Teddy, Toby and Peter Priel & Daphne Blumenthal, Eliot Rattle, Shivani Shimpi, Shashank Shimpi, Edward Smalarz, Liam So, Jacob Spies, Elizabeth Stahl, Erin Stanley, Margaret Stark-Roberts, Allerton Steele & Carmel Zimmerman, Bob Stenson, Eliana Miranda Stone, Rachael Tobener, Isabelle Trujillo, Christina Trujillo, Jessica Zucker